Skip to main content block

about us


    Historical background

    The origin of Nanzih
    The former name of Nanzih was Nam-A-Ken. The residents were descendants of migrants from Zhangzhou and Cyuanzhou in Fujian Province, China in the Cing Dynasty. The place that they eventually settled had many Aidia Canthioides trees, called Nanmu in Chinese, on the riverside. Therefore the village was named Nanzih Ken. During Japanese rule, the name was abbreviated to Nanzih, the current official name. However, the local name of Nam-A-Ken is still commonly used by the local populace.

    Change of administrative region

    During Japanese rule, the region belonged to Nam-A-Ken of Fengshan County and Fengshan County was changed to Tainan County in 1913. In September 1920 Tainan County was changed to Gangshan village, Kaohsiung and Nam-A-Ken was collectively called Nanzih Jhuang. On September 22, 1943 Nanzih Ken was listed in Nanzih district, Kaohsiung (scope of Nanzih and Tuku). After Taiwan's restoration in 1945, it was named the 19th district, Kaohsiung (scope of Nanzih and Tuku); in February 1946 it was merged with the 18th district (scope of Houjin) into the 12th district (scope of Nanzih, Tuku and Houjin) and in March of the same year it was re-merged with part of the 11th district (scope of Youchang, Yuanzhonggang and Siayiantian) to create the Nanzih district.


    The district is the door of northern Kaohsiung, with Sun Yat-sen Freeway, North-South Highway, and Seashore Highway entering into Kaohsiung City from the north of Yuanjhong Port and adjacent to three towns of Nam-A-Ken, Houjin, and Youchang respectively. Viewed geographically from Greater Kaohsiung Metropolis, Nanzih is also a main junction of Fongshan, Gangshan, and Cishan, serving as
    a pivot of transportation.

    Nanzih District is situated in Shoushan—the northwest foot of Banpinshan, with Houjin River winding through. It connects Dashe and Renwu Townships to the east, and Zuoying District to the south, bordered by Kaohsiung Oil Refinery. It also connects Yanchao and Ciaotou Townships to the north and Zihquan Township to the west. Nanzih faces Taiwan Strait, with a vast expanse and scattered villages.

    Road connection
    By bus
    Bus 6 from Zuoying South to Nanzih and return; Bus 301 from Jiachang via the railroad station to Siaogang and return; Bus 29 from Zuoying South to Nanzih and return; Bus 28 from Jiachang to the railroad station and return.

    Natural and Cultural Environments

    1. Surrounded by Houjin River, Nanzih River, Dianbao River, and flanked by Banpinshan to the southeast, Nanzih District boasts an agreeable urban landscape. It is also a university town for recreation, tourism and education, including National University of Kaohsiung, National Kaohsiung First University of Science and Technology, and National Kaohsiung Marine University in the northern area. The three schools unite to share resources with one another, making Nanzih a modern university community rich in culture. Meanwhile, Kaohsiung Metropolitan Park, banks of Houjin River, and seashore of Yuanjhong Port, are all great spots for outings and relaxation. In addition, the historical sites of Yang's Old House, Mazu Temple, Cing Fu Temple at Tuku and De Ming Evening Market, Houjin Night Market all provide excellent recreational arears for residents in Nanzih, Houjin and Youchang.

    2. During the Japanese rule, establishment of the first sugar plant in the north (today's Ciaotou), the naval port in the south, and No.6 Fuel Plant (today's Chinese Petroleum Corp.), brought job opportunities and formed the northern sugar industry and southern military base as well. Since the post-war period, export processing zones have been established in this district by Ministry of Economic Affairs, boosting the population from 8,000 in the early Japanese occupation to over 160,000 today.

    Region introduction
    Total 25.8276 square meters; the second largest area in the eleven districts of Kaohsiung city; smaller than Siaogang district.

    Village/Neighborhood organization:
    Total 37 Villages, 803 Neighborhoods and 71,929 households (as of Sep. 2018)

    Total 185,318  residents.(as of Sep. 2018)